Cinnamon Rolls

Whilst looking for something truly gluttonous on the weekend I cast my mind back to West Quay, the large shopping centre in central Southampton. Many years ago, there used to be a Cinnabon outlet there and every now and again, for a treat, we would get a roll each. Probably the richest and most sugar packed item I have ever eaten, but utterly delightful nonetheless. So, with my sweet tooth raging I began to look for recipes to concoct a homemade version and the outcome was nothing less than legendary. This is what I used –

Ingredients

The Dough: The Filling: The Frosting:
2.5 teaspoons yeast 225g brown sugar 100g soft cream cheese
600g strong bread flour 2.5 teaspoons cinnamon 50g soft butter
250ml warm milk 75g melted butter 200g icing sugar
2 eggs ½ teaspoon vanilla
75g melted butter 1/8 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon salt
100g caster sugar

 

I made the dough in my bread machine but I presume you could mix and knead it by hand and then leave it to prove until it has doubled in size.

Once the bread machine cycle had finished, I turned it out onto a floured surface and left it covered for 10 minutes. Meanwhile I mixed the sugar and the cinnamon together for the filling, and gently melted the 75g of butter. I also greased a large baking tray, approximately 9” x 13”.

Back to the dough. Roll it out to 40cm x 50cm and then paint it with the melted butter, then sprinkle the sugar cinnamon mix as evenly as you can. Roll it up into a log and cut it into 12 even slices. Place the slices on their side in the greased tray and leave, covered, for thirty minutes.

Preheat your oven to 180 degrees C and after the half an hour rising time, pop your rolls in to bake for about fifteen minutes. Whilst you keep an eye on them, beat together the ingredients for the frosting. Rescue your golden rolls and lavish them with frosting whilst they are warm. Your challenge now is to share them rather than scoff them all in secret!

As a final note, these did come out outrageously sweet so I think there’s room to reduce the sugar in the dough and probably halve the sugar in the filling. I reckon they’ll still be a super treat.

Leave a Reply

