Chocolate Courgette Cake

So, with two small resident kids, chocolate cake is frequently requested in this house. My problem is that unless it’s a mud/fudge cake, I find it dry. We’ve tried a number of recipes, loafs, sponges, cupcakes and always, it’s crumbly. Now I’m aware that I am contributing factor to the finished product but I felt we could do better.

This week I stumbled across the idea of a chocolate courgette cake that was allegedly moist, not too rich and generally lovely. So, I had a go and I have to say it is easily the best chocolate cake I’ve ever made and arguably the healthiest, given the hidden vegetable content. That’s true by the way, the courgette is truly secret, avoiding an awkward questions regarding non-traditional ingredients.

So here is what went into it –

250g plain flour
375g caster sugar
65g cocoa
2 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 eggs
200ml olive oil
340g grated courgette (I used two normal sized ones)

Here’s the method –

  1. Mix the flour, sugar, cocoa, bicarbonate of soda, baking powder, and salt together
  2. Add the eggs and stir.
  3. Add the oil and stir some more.
  4. Finally mix in the grated courgette.
  5. Line a tin, pour in the mixture and bake at 180 degrees C.

I used a loaf tin but found I had enough mixture left over to make 6 large cupcakes as well.

I baked the loaf for 20 minutes, uncovered and then gave it a foil lid for anther half an hour. I left it to cool in the tin for ten minutes and then turned it onto a rack. I didn’t bother to frost it but it’s been really well received regardless and I will definitely make it again.

Leave a Reply

