Ambition

I’ve reached a time in my life where I can start to tick off some of those things I’ve always wanted to do. You know that list you make when you are young, master of your destiny and you believe your time is going to be your own. I don’t mean a bucket list as such, not exotic travel locations, more things like, “one day, I’ll learn a foreign language,” “I’d like to take salsa lessons,” etc.

For me, I always wanted to write a book. For years I’ve wanted to write a book and have always put it off, generally with the excuse of insufficient time. To extent that has been true, what with jobs, a bit of a social life and then a couple of children, time has evaporated somewhat. I know you can always argue that if you want something badly enough you will find a way but in the last twenty years or so I personally have not been able to find a way. So make what you will of that but I now find myself with free time and yet I am still not writing my book. The problem I now face is that I cannot determine my story at all, I have zip inspiration. I can’t settle on a genre or a time period, I have no characters and no clue what I would do with them. I have considered the American Civil War as a setting; it has a certain appeal as does Medieval England, Vikings in Scandanavia and countless others. However, I can bring to mind many stories already based in these times and I wonder if there really is one not yet written. The challenge to produce something new is quite great and when I look around I notice that a lot of popular culture doesn’t bother any more.

It seems to be that covers of old songs and re-makes of old movies satisfy a great deal of our entertainment requirements. I maybe being nostalgic but I don’t remember so many songs being re-recorded in my youth, artists were original or at least that is my perception. Madonna and Michael Jackson were two of the primary forces in pop music back then and the only re-recording I can swiftly recall for either of them is “Fever.” The same goes for films. The Omen and Psycho were old when I was young but they were still good films and widely enjoyed. In my opinion, neither needed to be remade, it’s not even as though they were “re-imagined” in any way. The recent versions are pretty much, shot for shot, the same as the classics just with colour and contemporary actors. Gambit, The Poseidon Adventure, The Magnificent Seven, have all been given the same treatment and I’m sure with some thought plenty more would come to mind. Anyway, I digress, regardless of the state of originality as a whole, all I know for certain is that at the moment my well is dry and thus for the time being F. Scott Fitzgerald does not face any competition from me.

Leave a Reply

